Leadership Team

Harshad Mehta, Ph.D.

President, Special Projects

Dr. Harshad Mehta has served as the Chairman of the board of directors, President of Special Projects since founding Silicon Power Corporation after acquiring a high-power semiconductor group and associated technology from General Electric in April 1994. He also acquired Harris Power Devices Group in 1998. From 1983 to 1994, Dr. Mehta was a Project Manager at the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), a nationally recognized independent non-profit institution conducting research on electric power, at which he managed projects related to advanced power electronics, robotics and sensor technologies.

Dr. Mehta received a B.S. in Physics, Chemistry and Math and a M.S. in Physics from Vikram University, India, and a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Florida.

Accomplishments include:
• 2014 IEEE PES Nari Hingorani Custom Power Award
• R&D 100 Award from R&D Magazine


John Schwartzenberg

Director of Power Electronics

John Schwartzenberg re-joined Silicon Power Corporation in 2020 and is the Director of Power Electronics. Mr. Schwartzenberg has over 25 years of industrial design and management in the design, manufacturing and deployment of transmission and distribution power electronic devices; which includes leadership positions at GE and Alstom Grid.

Mr. Schwartzenberg received both a Bachelor of Science and a Master of Science in Electrical Engineering from Drexel University in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.